Animation World
Soul and Wolfwalkers triumph at the 2021 Annie Awards
April 17, 2021

Soul and Wolfwalkers triumph at the 2021 Annie Awards

The film awards dedicated to the animated production industry, the Annie Awards, this year reward the new Pixar's film and the latest Irish Cartoon Saloon's production.
This edition of the prizes awarded by ASIFA (Association Internationale du Film d'Animation) were dominated by the two most celebrated films of the year, respectively best feature film and best indie feature film, with Tomm Moore and Ross Stewart (Wolfwalkers) best directors and Soul best story.

Awards also for The Mandalorian, Hilda, Jurassic World: Camp Cretaceous, Primal, Star Wars: The Clone Wars, Big Mouth and more.

Here the complete list:

Best Feature
- Soul (Pixar Animation Studios)

Best Indie Feature
- Wolfwalkers (Cartoon Saloon/Apple Tv/Gkids)

Best Special Production
- The Snail and the Whale (Magic Light Pictures)

Best Short Subject
- Souvenir Souvenir (Blast Production)

Best Sponsored
- There’s a Monster in my Kitchen (Cartoon Saloon, Mother)

Best TV/Media - Preschool
- The Adventures of Paddington "Paddington Digs a Tunnel to Peru" (Blue-Zoo Animation Studio and Nickelodeon Animation Studio)

Best TV/Media - Children
- Hilda "Chapter 9: The Deerfox" (Silvergate Media for Netflix)

Best TV/Media - General Audience
- Genndy Tartakovsky's Primal "Coven Of The Damned" (Cartoon Network Studios)

Best Student Film
- La Bestia (Gobelins)
Student directors: Marlijn Van Nuenen, Ram Tamez, Alfredo Gerard Kuttikatt

Best FX for TV/Media
- Jurassic World: Camp Cretaceous "Welcome to Jurassic World" (DreamWorks Animation)
Emad Khalili, Ivan Wang

Best FX for Feature
- Soul (Pixar Animation Studios)
Tolga Göktekin, Carl Kaphan, Hiroaki Narita, Enrique Vila, Kylie Wijsmuller

Best Character Animation - TV/Media
- Hilda (Silvergate Media/Netflix)
David Laliberté

Best Character Animation - Animated Feature
- Soul (Pixar Animation Studios)
Michal Makarewicz

Best Character Animation - Live Action
- The Mandalorian (Lucasfilm/Image Engine)
Nathan Fitzgerald, Leo Ito, Chris Rogers, Eung Ho Lo, Emily Luk

Best Character Animation - Video Game
- Marvels Spider-Man Miles Morales (Insomniac Games)
Brian Wyser, Michael Yosh, Danny Garnett, David Hancock

Best Character Design - TV/Media
- Amphibia "The Shut-In!" (Disney TV Animation)
Joe Sparrow

Best Character Design - Feature
- Wolfwalkers (Apple Original Films/GKIDS)
Federico Pirovano

Best Direction - TV/Media
- Genndy Tartakovsky's Primal "Plague Of Madness" (Cartoon Network Studios)
Genndy Tartakovsky

Best Direction - Feature
- Wolfwalkers (Apple Original Films/GKIDS)
Tomm Moore, Ross Stewart

Best Music - TV/Media
- Star Wars: The Clone Wars "Victory and Death" (Lucasfilm Animation)
Kevin Kiner

Best Music - Feature
- Soul (Pixar Animation Studios)
Trent Reznor, Atticus Ross, Jon Batiste

Best Production Design - TV/Media
- Shooom's Odyssey (Picolo Pictures)
Julien Bisaro

Best Production Design - Feature
- Wolfwalkers (Apple Original Films/GKIDS)
María Pareja, Ross Stewart, Tomm Moore

Best Storyboarding - TV/Media
- Looney Tunes Cartoons (Warner Bros. Animation)
Andrew Dickman

Best Storyboarding - Feature
- Soul (Pixar Animation Studios)
Trevor Jimenez

Best Voice Acting - TV/Media
- Tales of Arcadia: Wizards "Our Final Act" (DreamWorks Animation)
David Bradley (Merlin)

Best Voice Acting - Feature
- Wolfwalkers (Apple Original Films/GKIDS)
Eva Whittaker (Mebh Óg MacTíre)

Best Writing - TV/Media
- Big Mouth "The New Me" (Netflix)
Andrew Goldberg, Patti Harrison, Andrew Goldberg

Best Writing - Feature
- Soul (Pixar Animation Studios)
Pete Docter, Mike Jones, Kemp Powers

Best Editorial - TV/Media
- Hilda "Chapter 9: The Deerfox" (Silvergate Media/Netflix)
John McKinnon

Best Editorial - Feature
- Soul (Pixar Animation Studios)
Kevin Nolting, Gregory Amundson, Robert Grahamjones, Amera Rizk

[ Fra - source Annie ]
Studio Ghibli

(Go to calendar..)
Texts license rules

Texts license rules
Animation World
Dot Animation Magazine
Credits - Contact - RSS - Privacy
SOCIAL: Mastodon - Twitter - Flipboard - Facebook
Brands, titles and images are ©/® by respective owners
Texts and other © 2004 - 2024 Dot Animation Magazine |