Animation World
The Academy invites 150 new members of the animation industry
June 28, 2018

The Academy invites 150 new members of the animation industry

A very important turning point was taken by the American organization simply known as Academy, the one that assigns the Oscar awards, with more than 900 new members and many from the Animation and Special Effects industry.
All the members represent above all the voting power of categories and titles in all stages of the event, from long to short lists.

The organization therefore grows more and more, including 928 new members this year, 49% of which are women, so as to expand and become increasingly fair in many ways.

One of the most important is the animation and special effects sector, with over 150 new members from all over the world, including Japanese artists.

Among these the Academy will now include:

- Mamoru Hosoda - director (The Boy and The Beast, Summer Wars)
- Makoto Shinkai - director (Your Name, 5 Centimeters Per Second)
- Atsuko Hirayanagi - director (Oh Lucy!)
- Sunao Katabuchi - director (In This Corner of the World, Mai Mai Miracle)
- Ru Kuwahata - director (Negative Space)
- Sion Sono - director (Tokyo Vampire Hotel, The Whispering Star)
- Yoko Kanno - composer (Macross Plus, Cowboy Bebop)
- Keiko Mitsumatsu - designer (Nobody Knows)

But also:

- Paul Young - Irish animation studios Cartoon Saloon co-founder (Song of the Sea)
- Dorota Kobiela - director (Loving Vincent)
- Sergio Pablos - animator/producer (Rio, Despicable Me

..and many others. Here the complete list of the Animation sector:

- Allison Abbate (Frankenweenie, The Iron Giant)
- Kim Adams (Rain or Shine, Small Fry)
- Ali Asgari (Gaze, The Silence)
- Katja Benrath (Watu Wote/All of Us, Tilda)
- Rose Bond (Electroflux, Cerridwen's Gift)
- Jongnic Bontemps (The Big Chop, There Are Ghosts)
- Paul Briggs (Big Hero 6, Frozen)
- Nick Bruno (The Peanuts Movie, Ice Age Continental Drift)
- Spela Cadez (Nighthawk, Boles)
- Sofia Carrillo (Cerulia, La Casa Triste)
- Scott Carroll (Ferdinand, The Peanuts Movie)
- Martine Chartrand (MacPherson, Ame Noire)
- Bruno Chauffard (Despicable Me 3, The Secret Life of Pets)
- Yarr\ow Cheney (The Secret Life of Pets, Despicable Me)
- Teresa Cheng (Shrek Forever After, Madagascar)
- Pedro Collantes (Serori, Eskiper)
- Melanie Coombs (Mary and Max, Harvie Krumpet)
- Michèle Cournoyer (Accordéon, The Hat)
- Jill Culton (Open Season, Monsters, Inc.)
- Cassidy Curtis (How to Train Your Dragon, Madagascar: Escape 2 Africa)
- Jennifer Dahlman (Coin Operated, Penguins of Madagascar)
- Kevin Deters (Olaf's Frozen Adventure, The Ballad of Nessie)
- Karen Disher (Rio, Surviving Sid)
- Ann Marie Fleming (Window Horses, Blue Skies)
- Nick Fletcher (Trolls, Home)
- Kirk Garfield (Ferdinand, Rio 2)
- Danis Goulet (Barefoot, Wapawekka)
- Carlos Grangel (Tim Burton's Corpse Bride, Shark Tale)
- Hamish Grieve (Captain Underpants The First Epic Movie, Rise of the Guardians)
- Nicole Grindle (Incredibles 2, Sanjay's Super Team)
- Yasser Hamed (Moana, Big Hero 6)
- Harry Hitner (Ferdinand, Rio)
- Brent Homman (Olaf's Frozen Adventure, Big Hero 6)
- Daisy Jacobs (The Full Story, The Bigger Picture)
- Jeong Dahee (Man on the Chair, The Empty)
- Yvette Kaplan (Ice Age, Beavis and Butt-Head Do America)
- Jan Lachauer (Revolting Rhymes, Room on the Broom)
- Josh Lawson (The Eleven O'Clock, After the Credits)
- Pierre Leduc (Sing, Minions)
- Lei Lei (Hand-Colored No. 2, Recycled)
- Anthony Leo (The Breadwinner)
- Alexander Levenson (Ferdinand, The Peanuts Movie)
- Li Jie (Coal Story, Three Pieces of Sincere Advice)
- Liu Jian (Have a Nice Day, Look at This Man)
- Adolph Lusinsky (Moana, Big Hero 6)
- Maggie Malone (Big Hero 6, The Princess and the Frog)
- Joe Mancewicz (Alvin and the Chipmunks, Happy Feet)
- Pam Marsden Siragusa (Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs, Dinosaur)
- Mauro Mueller (A World for Raùl, Ge.hen'nah)
- Vincent Di Nguyen (The Peanuts Movie, Surviving Sid)
- Fredrik Nilsson (The Boss Baby, The Croods)
- Kevin M. Ochs (How to Train Your Dragon 2, Kung Fu Panda 2)
- Ngozi Onwurah (Hang Time, The Body Beautiful)
- Mauricio Osaki (My Father's Truck, The Dust of Your Photos)
- Chris Overton (The Silent Child, Dalston Heath)
- Nina Paley (Kahlil Gibran's The Prophet, Sita Sings the Blues)
- Michaela Pavlátová (Tram, Reci, Reci, Reci)
- Ruben Perez (The Boss Baby, Penguins of Madagascar)
- Regina Pessoa (Kali the Little Vampire, Tragic Story with Happy Ending)
- Suzan Pitt (Pinball, Visitation)
- Bobby Podesta (Cars 3, Toy Story 3)
- Max Porter (Negative Space, Something Left, Something Taken)
- Carlos Fernandez Puertolas (The Boss Baby, Home)
- Joanna Quinn (Dreams and Desires: Family Ties, Famous Fred)
- Eric Ramsey (Trolls, Turbo)
- Vanitha Rangaraju (The Boss Baby, Madagascar 3: Europe's Most Wanted)
- Jeffrey R. Ranjo (Frozen, Surf's Up)
- Timothy Reckart (The Star, Head over Heels)
- Tobias Rosen (Watu Wote/All of Us, Feuerkind)
- Farnoosh Samadi (Gaze, The Silence)
- Gini Cruz Santos (Coco, The Good Dinosaur)
- Jakob Schuh (Revolting Rhymes, The Gruffalo)
- Georges Schwizgebel (Erlking, Romance)
- Yuriko Senoo (The Star, The Pirate Fairy)
- Carla Shelley (Early Man, Wallace & Gromit in The Curse of the Were-Rabbit)
- Rachel Shenton (The Silent Child, The Winter's Club)
- Amy Lawson Smeed (Moana, Tangled)
- Tony Smeed (Zootopia, Frozen)
- Keith L. Smith (Post Life, Island Song)
- Patrick Smith (Puppet, Handshake)
- Josh Staub (Inner Workings, Feast)
- Stacey Steers (Edge of Alchemy, Night Hunter)
- Chris Stover (Turbo, Foodfight)
- Mark Swift (Captain Underpants The First Epic Movie, Penguins of Madagascar)
- Shannon Tindle (Kubo and the Two Strings, Curious George)
- Karen Rupert Toliver (Ferdinand, Rio)
- Cilia Van Dijk (The Last Words of Dutch Schultz, Anna & Bella)
- Cesar Velazquez (Zootopia, Wreck-It Ralph)
- Dina Velikovskaya (About a Mother, My Strange Grandfather)
- John Walker (Incredibles 2, The Incredibles)
- Dick Walsh (The Boss Baby, Shrek Forever After)
- Dave Walvoord (How to Train Your Dragon 2, Kung Fu Panda 2)
- Hugh Welchman (Loving Vincent, Peter & the Wolf)
- Stevie Wermers-Skelton (Olaf's Frozen Adventure, The Ballad of Nessie)
- Carey Williams (Emergency, Cherry Waves)
- Larry Y. Wu (Moana, Big Hero 6)
- Jennifer Yu (Moana, Wreck-It Ralph)
- Kathy Zielinski (The Road to El Dorado, The Hunchback of Notre Dame)

[ Fra - source CartoonBrew ]
Texts license rules

Texts license rules
Animation World
Dot Animation Magazine
Credits - Contact - RSS - Privacy
SOCIAL: Mastodon - Twitter - Flipboard - Facebook
Brands, titles and images are ©/® by respective owners
Texts and other © 2004 - 2024 Dot Animation Magazine |